Advice On 3/4 Carat...

Newb2Diamond

Hello,

I am new to this world alike many and have been trying to do as much research as I can on selecting the right diamond (or at least the right diamond for me). Reading this forum has helped a bunch but I would be silly to say that I don't have a rookie question to ask...

As the title states I am looking for a diamond around 3/4 carats (yes, this is budget involved). I am also looking for best bang for buck...

Using the Diamond Finder above, I think I have decided on the following specs (and please let me know if I am misguided):

Clarity - VS2

Cut - Excellent

Color - H

Would the above lend to a good looking diamond? 

Oh and a couple more questions... Sorry, again very new to this. Should I ask for pictures or assorted before I decide on the diamond, and what specifically do I ask for. I have seen images on this site with flaw marking and some with red luminance-like graphs.

Thanks in advance for any help you might offer. I am here to learn.

Those specs are fine. 

Add to it GIA or AGS grading only. 

Consider SI1 as well.  Maybe I too. 

It's worth noting that 'about 3/4 cts.' covers some ground.  In particular, there's usually a significant price bump at 0.70cts.  If a 0.68 fits YOUR definition of about 3/4, there's a savings to be had there. 

Neil,

Thank you so much for the quick reply!

Yes I am looking for GIA grading.

As for SL1, I am scared of imperfections being seen... Am I wrong in thinking that?

And as for looking at lets say a .68 diamond, how noticeable in size is that from say a .74 or .71?

BTW - Do you happen to have any recommendations on what I should ask an online retailer for picture wise?

Again, Thanks in advance!

SI1: the vast majority won't have inclusions from the top without having some magnification. This said, some will - the only way of knowing for sure is to see the diamond. Expert opinion (including the vendor - if they have the stone in hand) is next best, then photos.