First Time Buyer

kennymac

Hello all

I am totally new to the world of diamond and am currently looking for an engagement ring for my girlfriend.

I have an idea of what I want and a budget.

I have found a diamond that looks to be great - 1.21 carat, VS1, colour E

Is there anything in particular I should be looking at? I also have an option on a 1 carat VS2 colour D.

Both diamonds are in my price range, any advice on what to look for would be great!

Thanks

Kenny

There's a bunch of issues here. It might benefit you to spend a few hours reading more-or-less random discussions here in the forum. There's quite a lot of people with concerns about like yours.

Here's a few questions to start with:

1) What's the shape?

2) What's the cutting like

3) Who graded these stones?

4) What's the style of store (fancy retail store, chain store, discount internet site, etc.)

5) What were the criteria that led you to those particular stones?

6) What's your budget?

• Like 1

First and foremost, who is calling the diamonds E/VS1 or D/VS2? Not all grading reports are equal, and thousands of dollars in fair price hinge on tiny differences (such as, for example, D to E or VS1 to VS2).

Second - cut is probably the most important single variable in determining whether a diamond is nice to look at or just a very expensive and very hard piece of transparent material. You haven't mentioned it, not even to the extent of the basic shape.

Third - the channel through which you are buying or could buy through has a significant effect on price. High street (or mall) retailers tend to be significantly more expensive than internet operations.