Need Some Opinions On A 3.84 Cushion Cut

cushionstonebuyer

Hi guys,

Been reading these forums for the past month or two and found something that I finally felt I needed your opinions on.

The stone is a 3.84 Cushion cut I looked at in a local jewelry store today. The jeweler got it on loan from a seller and called me in.

Looking at the stone with my somewhat limited knowledge, I decided its a stone I'd consider purchasing.

It was eye clean, with very minimal inclusions (the biggest one to stand out was a small little black dot inside). Other than that the stone looked gorgeous but then again I'm no expert.

Unfortunately I didn't have a chance to snap any photos but we stacked up the stone next to an H and I barely noticed a difference. Then I stacked it up to an E and obviously noticed a difference but it was not as large as I expected as I have seen some I's that were very warm.

For an SI1 this stone looked very clean.

The price for the stone is roughly $38K. What do you guys think about the stone in general and the price?

The gentleman that provided the stone to the jeweler is leaving out of the country again and wanted the stone back if I am not going to purchase it in the next few days so I probably need to make a decision soon.

post-134864-0-36838400-1424334984_thumb.png

Price seems reasonable. As to the rest of the stone, the two typical big questions are about clarity and cut, perhaps followed by colour, and ALL of them are about subjective preferences with an I/SI1 cushion.

The only thing I would suggest is that you sleep over it, and if you haven't done so look at a few alternatives in perhaps different sizes, colours and clarities (not to mention cut, but with cushions it's pretty difficult to categorise), to make sure that you remain as enthusiastic as you are now.