Not Sure If I Should Return This Ring? Need Help Please! :)

Selina

Hi everyone -

Would really appreciate it if I could get some advice! :) I am totally new to diamonds.

Received the Radiant Star ring below, but I am very much bothered by the carbon spots near the center (one spot or two are pretty obvious to me). I feel bad to return it because it is an engagement ring… but I don't want my fiancé to be ripped off (he worked hard for the money).

The ring is G in color and I2 clarity. I cost about $6,700 including warranty with a promotion deal. Is this ring worth such money?

I think it is IGI graded. Is IGI grading trustworthy? If not, what kind of grading should I be looking for?

I also heard that I2 clarity could be structurally unstable, is that true? I think under the microscope I saw something that looked like a white crack as well. Not sure what it is. and if it will make the diamond bad later or not.

http://www.helzberg.com/product/1ct+diamond+engagement+ring%2C+igi+graded+1666890.do?from=Search&cx=0#tab_01

Thank you so much for your time and your advice!! :)

IGI is a mixed bag on reliability but given that they've graded it at the bottom of the scale anyway, I wouldn't be worried about misgrading.

The biggest problem is that you don't love it.  That's what the thing is FOR.  Have a chat with your fiancee about it.  You're going to have this for a long time and there's no reason to keep one that doesn't suit your fancy.  Helzberg is a reasonable enough outfit but I think there's a deadline on how quickly you have to take these things back so there's reason to be in a hurry.

Hi Selina,

Neil most definitely has addressed the most important issues: you have to be on the same page as your fiancé and you should love your ring.