What Do You Think About This One?

RiderXTC

I had been agonizing over purchasing a princess cut diamond in a basic setting for well over a week.  During the last week, I feel I have gotten a pretty good education about diamonds, not to say that I think I am an expert by any means.  I finally purchased a .92 princess cut diamond today at Jared's - more about the setting shortly.  The specifications and the GIA report number on the diamond I purchased are below.

I paid $6,150 for the stone itself.  Of course the stone had to be mounted, so I chose a basic, 14kt, white gold setting with a platinum head.  The cost of the setting was $389.99 plus $150 for the platinum head, bringing the grand total of the setting to $539.  Of course, the salesperson, who seemed very nice, honest and helpful, strongly urged that I purchase the insurance for $149.99.  He assured me the insurance covers damage, breakage, chipping, etc.., and further explained that loss or theft is not covered.  On top of these costs, I paid 6% tax bringing my grand total to $7.240 minus a generous $100 discount, thus equalling $7,140.  

I left feeling pretty good about my purchase.  Instead of leaving it at that, I decided to go online and do some comparative shopping.  This was not a good idea.  What I found is that I could get a 1.01 or 1.02 carat diamond of better color, clarity, polish and symmetry for about a couple of hundred dollars more that the cost of the stone I purchased - meaning for about $6,300.  The same white gold setting online, I am not sure if this includes a platinum head, was only $289.99.  So my grand total only would only be about $6,600 for a much better stone.