Igi Vs Gsi?

rosie_w1

IGI is a huge company with several different labs that do not all use the same methodology.  That gets further complicated because they have lots of different products and they don't all use the same rules.  Some IGI reports are done on mounted stones, some include a value conclusion, some will grade stones in groups, etc.  Neither GIA nor AGS will do any of these things and SOME IGI labs refuse to do them as well.  

As a general rule, the onus is on the lab/grader/appraiser to convince you that their opinions have merit and the default answer is NO. 

Edited by denverappraiser

Is there really any difference between International Gemological Institute's current grading practices and Gemological Science Internationals? I know AGS and GIA are more accurate and stones valued higher accordingly.  Just curious about IGI and GSI specifically.

Although I'm a newbie and not in the business,  I've never even heard of Gem Science Intl.  Has anyone?  I'n not being mean…just asking.

Edited by DLNOK

DLNOK - three letter lab names are a penny a dozen, and what the three letters stand for is often misquoted. In the case of GSI I know at least one of those using those three letters, and it's a Canadian company going under the name of "Gem Scan International". The GSI that rosie_w1 is asking about seems to be a different company; if it makes you feel better, it's the first time I hear of it too.