Egl Int. Vs. Gia

AYG2014

Hi,

I know this is probably an age old questions, but please bare with me as I am new to diamond and is in the market for an engagement ring  :)

I have narrowed down to 2 options. The GIA has colour/clarity gradings one step down from the EGL Int. I've read that EGL is more lenient, so they are roughly even.

The EGL is $5k less than the GIA, which makes it very tempting.

Personally, I couldn't tell much difference. The jewelry lady commented that that the EGL is slightly whiter and the GIA sparkled better.

My issues with the EGL:

- The jewelry lady mentioned there is a very small black inclusion in the EGL. She said certification stated there is crystal inclusions.

- I've also had trouble looking up the EGL Plantium certificates online, which concerns me a little.

I would like to get an opinion from more experience members here.

Also what are some of the other information I should request before making the purchase?

Thanks.

A

Search the forum for EGL and you'll find a wealth of threads on this topic. My comments below are just picking on specific points, rather than the whole issue.

I have narrowed down to 2 options. The GIA has colour/clarity gradings one step down from the EGL Int. I've read that EGL is more lenient, so they are roughly even.

Totally wrong assumption. Here is a diamond that was graded H by EGL-I, and N by GIA: http://www.diamondreview.com/forum/topic/9671-egl/#entry49323 however, the clarity grade was the same. I have seen stones for which EGL was out 3 grades on clarity, but GIA agreed on the colour. On average, 2 grades out might even be correct, but it is totally irrelevant to you as a buyer of a specific stone.

The EGL is $5k less than the GIA, which makes it very tempting.