1 Ct Engagement Ring Advice?

BeachBuc92

Hello, all!

I have been doing some online research for a few months in my free time on engagement rings, the C's, and important aspects in buying.

I am a younger college student and have saved up $2,500 over the past year and a half for an engagement ring.

I recently found a 1 Ct Solitaire engagement ring that I am very interested in.

Here is some of the given information on the ring:

• Weight: 1 carat
    • Color: G-H
    • Clarity: I1-I2
    • Setting: 6 Prong
    • Certification: EGL
    • Metal: 14k white gold
    • Finish: High polish
    • Style: Solitaire
    • Weight: 2.9 grams
    • Ring setting: 7 mm wide x 8 mm long x 8 mm high
    • Band: 2 mm wide

Due to special pricing and a discount I am able to obtain, I could buy this ring for $2,200 with the con of not being able to see the diamond before buying.  With that being said, their is a 30-day return policy and it is EGL certified (I know it is not the best in certifications but it is better than nothing).

Does this seem like a good purchase for a young person with my budget?

Any advice or words of wisdom would be greatly appreciated! :)

Thank you.

No, it doesn't seem a good purchase to me. The EGL report means that you know next to nothing on colour and clarity - only that it's going to be no higher than H/I2, and that doesn't sound like a very nice recipe (there are I2 that look OK, but there aren't many and you need to see them). You also know nothing about the cut of the diamond, which is the most important attribute as far as looks are concerned.

I think you should reset your expectations: a truly nice looking 1 carat+ diamond is not available for $2000 or so.