Need Help Deciding Between Retailers. Insurance Vs. Warranty Question?

jeremyledford

Hello all,

I am a newbie, and looking at purchasing an engagement ring within a couple of months.

The ring my girlfriend loves comes from Solomon Brothers fine jewelry, but comes with little warranty (one year). However, I am skeptical about buying, and love the fact that retailers like Shane Co. have outstanding warranties. 

I guess my question is, is it a major cost and pain to keep a ring insured and appraised? I'm a rather simple guy, and don't want a high maintenance ring on her finger. Though, I am spending a lot (for me) on this ring with no plans to upgrade later. That being said, i need the guarantee that whatever I decide on will last forever.

Is my best route insurance? Or maybe contacting another company to customize this ring?

(picture is item number 141506-1 from Solomon Brothers)

Thanks Everyone!

Jeremy

post-134444-0-42904000-1408292948.jpg

Read carefully the warranty provided by Shane & Co. (or any other jeweller), and you'll see the following:

1. You have to bring in the ring every 6 months for inspection, which is at the very least inconvenient (and not necessary if the ring is well built in the first place). Normally, any intervention done by someone else voids the warranty.

2. They cover partial loss and some damage to the ring, but not the far more common total loss, disappearance or theft, while a good insurance company will cover you for all of those.

3. Pretty much any local jeweller will offer free cleaning - and some times even re-plating, if you are going for plated white gold. In any case, cleaning can be done for even less expense (no gas or parking) at home, and replating is not expensive even where they charge you for it.

4. Compare prices like-for-like, and you'll notice that the warranty is not for free at all...

I don't understand your comment on "contacting another company to customise the ring". Why would you want to do that?