Ja Princess Cut Ags Certified

bigalexc

Hello All... Complete newb here. However I've done a great deal of research and have come across this diamond and I am very interested in it. Before doing so I am hoping for some feedback from this community, like most people. I've posted a copy of the AGS cert below. James Allen has this priced at $5330. So, 2 questions. What is the community opinion of JA? And what is the opinion of this AGS princess cut diamond at this price?

For additional info a local jeweler has this ring, see 2nd attachment. Setting is from Gabriel & Co. The center stone is a 1.07, SI1, G/H color, non certified diamond for $5623. To me it seems like a no brainer to go for the AGS certified stone which also happens to be cheaper.

Any feedback is much appreciated. I hope I've provided enough details for the community to provide detailed feedback.

Thanks in advance!

post-134418-0-37562400-1407203168_thumb.jpg

post-134418-0-10475900-1407203592_thumb.jpeg

James Allen is a good retailer. The stone is nice. The price is fine. The only question - which you can ask JA - is whether the crystal(s) in the centre are visible with the naked eye. It is very rare in a VS2, but it does happen. This particular stone is priced at the bottom of similarly graded stones, so there may be a reason...

The comparison against the local retail offering does not stack up, however, since from your description it seems that the setting is included in the price, and this could easily be worth over $1000 retail. Does it make it a better deal? Not to me, since I don't know this dealer and I have no reason to trust their grading, and I really don't like that setting, but perhaps you do.

davidelevi,