Is There A Noticeably Visual Difference Between 1.40 And 1.50 Ct?

Chris Player

I'm shopping for an engagement ring.  I'm looking at a 1.41 ct, SI-1, H-color, XXX diamond priced at $8,600.  I want a 1.5 ct (XXX, H, SI-1 or 2) in the same price range.  

A: Is there a noticeable difference .10 (1/10) carat?

B: Can this be achieved given my budget?

I'm very new to this and appreciate any and all advice!! 

Cheers!

A.  (1)  By heft, no.  A carat is 200 milligrams, so 10 points' difference is 20 milligrams.

(2)  By top-down view, probably not.  This is where the cubic volume of 10 points translates into a visual dimension, and almost every stone you look at is going to be within 1-2% of the same cross section.  HOWEVER, some 1.41 stones will face up larger than 1.5 carat stones... though they're not both likely to be XXX.

B.  Can it be achieved in your budget?  Not from current online stock; not without compromise on the cut.  A 1.5 XXX H SI-1/2 is realistically in the range of 15-20% more expensive, and a big part of that is the price bump per-carat when you hit the magic number 1.5.

Again, there's a qualifier: if you work the used aftermarket, which essentially means Ebay, and are very careful to buy well-described GIA stones from private owners, you could get that 20% back.  Perhaps even more -- like a ring thrown in with it.  Since you are not expert, and neither is the seller in most cases like this, there's luck and quite a bit of faith involved.  Be absolutely clear on how Ebay's "buyer protection" works for you before initiating a transaction, and follow Ebay + Paypal's rules to the letter.  (And pay your Paypal bill with a credit card rather than direct draw from your bank account, so you have an additional layer of protection on top of that.)

• Like 1