Oval Diamond Shopping

Meka5

So I have pretty much decided on an oval diamond. I was wanting something with a little uniqueness, and I like the oval look. I am probably going with an east-west setting, which I really like if it's on the right band. My question(s) - I know there's no cut grades for ovals...but is there any range of table and depth that I should look to be in? Are those numbers very important with ovals? I know it all comes down to the eye test, but wanted to know if there were some

Key things to look for in oval diamonds.

To give reference, I'm thinking around $2-3k on the stone. Less than one carat, most likely, and I tend to notice yellow in stones, so probably no less than I color.

Any comments/suggestions/help at all is very much appreciated. I'm new to ring shopping, but have gotten fairly familiar the past few weeks, so any input you have would be great. Thanks

Edited by Meka5

For $2940, you can have a very shallow oval --

http://www.jamesallen.com/loose-diamonds/oval-cut/0.77-carat-g-color-vvs2-clarity-sku-289550

or, for $2170, one of the phattest stones you ever saw.  Seriously, this stone's girdle is so chunky, it needs a Sir Mix-a-lot (Babys Got Back) tune all by itself --

http://www.jamesallen.com/loose-diamonds/oval-cut/0.70-carat-g-color-vs1-clarity-sku-160333

If you're susceptible to yellowitis, you want to go with a shallower stone, or bump your color grade requirement up a level or 2.

Avoid a stone that looks like this --

http://www.jamesallen.com/loose-diamonds/oval-cut/0.83-carat-i-color-vs1-clarity-sku-316140

-- unless your desire to be a Maverick includes raccoon / panda eyes.