Good Diamond To Buy?

Az0064

Hey Pals, 

I was looking at the diamond below.  The only issue is the knot in the middle.  I have no experience looking at that but would it be noticeable to the naked eye?  

1.40 Carat Round

Cut: Excellent

Clarity: S1-2 

Florescence: None

Color: J

GIA certified.

http://www.bluenile.com/diamond-search?pt=setform&track=NavDiaSeaRD#diamonds_pid=LD04324491

I don't understand why people are obsessed with the idea that the GIA report number is somehow an important thing to hide... and so end up cutting and scratching things off including - in your case - the legend of the plot which would have been useful to understand what one is seeing in the photo.

Anyway;

1. My guess is that this could well be eye-clean... and almost certainly not mind-clean (meaning you would always be second-guessing yourself as to whether you did or did not see the inclusions just right now). A lot depends on the "real" colour of the inclusions and on what happens once the stone is set.

2. If you remain below 1.50 you can get a stone that is probably the same size, cleaner and slightly better cut (I like high crowns, but not everybody does, and this one is a little steep, plus I'm not keen on the very broad "dim" centre) for the same price...

Edited by davidelevi

What could be "wrong"? There is no way anyone can figure out anything about the diamond that is not already on the report... and a report copy is effectively a public document since it can be retrieved on the GIA site.

You can tell that the crown is steep(ish) because of the crown angle (or missing that, table %, crown height and a bit of trigonometry); a "classical ideal" crown should be around 34 - 35°. Does it matter? Not if you like it...