Please Help On Selecting A Princess Cut Diamond

Kevin Yu

Hi All,

I'm completely new to diamond I'm trying to buy a princess cut engagement ring for my girl friend :) . I've spent the last couple days browsing on bluenile and I am thinking about buying this diamond:

http://www.bluenile.com/ca/build-your-own-diamond-ring?builder=BYOR&forceStep=DIAMONDS_STEP&pid=LD03892083#DIAMONDS_STEP|LD03892083

Is this considered a good diamond and worth the price?

Thanks

Hey mate,

I went through a similar process re: selecting a princess cut.

Read through my thoughts, decision process and advice from a few more experienced members on here in my thread

http://www.diamondreview.com/forum/topic/9401-princess-cut-advicefeedback-needed/

I agree with David, it does seem to have a premium price on it for a 0.73. The GCAL optical analysis looks good for light return, but for the same outlay, you can get a more superior stone from AGS that has been graded more thoroughly.

Have a look at the AGS stones from Whiteflash, Brian Gavin or James Allen. 

Best of luck!

Hey mate,

I went through a similar process re: selecting a princess cut.

Read through my thoughts, decision process and advice from a few more experienced members on here in my thread

http://www.diamondreview.com/forum/topic/9401-princess-cut-advicefeedback-needed/

I agree with David, it does seem to have a premium price on it for a 0.73. The GCAL optical analysis looks good for light return, but for the same outlay, you can get a more superior stone from AGS that has been graded more thoroughly.

Have a look at the AGS stones from Whiteflash, Brian Gavin or James Allen. 

Best of luck!

Thanks everyone! 

MrRevHead - I looked at James Allen and Brian Gavin and most of diamond there don't have AGS report. Do I have to ask for it or ?

Thanks everyone! 

MrRevHead - I looked at James Allen and Brian Gavin and most of diamond there don't have AGS report. Do I have to ask for it or ?