Rookie - Ready For First Major Purchase

tebok

Hello everyone. I’m ready to make my first major purchase and feel like I’m studying for a major exam. It’s one I’m really looking into and although I’m gaining confidence it’s a decision I don’t want to make alone. I have found the setting I’m looking for so now it’s time to find the rock. Here are a few details to help anyone who is nice enough to help:

Shape: Round

Carat: 1.75 or larger

Color: G or better

Clarity: SI1 or better

Cut: Excellent

Certification: GIA

Blue Nile and Adiamor have a few diamonds that meet these requirements that are in the ball park of 13 grand. Is that a reasonable price range with local dealers? I have a friend in the industry that told me when you’re working in this range there is a lot of mark-up and with that room to work the price down.

Also, does anyone have a place in the Denver area that they would refer?

Thank you for your time and feel free to share any input you may have.

Um. I would flatly disagree with your friend. Mark up for stones below 5 carats is fairly constant as a %, and it is more a function of business model (pure internet vs. local; large vs. small; service levels; ...) and supply chain relationships than of colour/clarity/size/price.

You can get a stone that (just) fits your minimum criteria for about $13k. There are about 160 GIA/AGS graded 1.70-1.80 G/SI1 advertised here on the Diamond Finder, at prices ranging from about $10k to about $20k. Bear in mind that stones at the bottom of the price range will tend to be there for a reason, usually one of the following:

1) Inclusions are somewhat visible. With an SI1 it's unlikely to be a big aesthetic bother, but it may well be there.

2) Cut variability. Some of the lower price stones don't make it into excellent, and others aren't the "best" excellent, though none will look bad.