Surface Inclusion?

bkn6136

Hello,

Complete diamond newbie here. I just purchased an engagement ring through a diamond retailer, and I'm a little concerned. I bought a non-certified diamond (concern 1) that looked absolutely gorgeous in the store. I was able to compare it to other diamonds with GIA certifications, and it compared extremely well. I was able to get this diamond for half the price of similar spec'd certified diamonds (concern 2.)

Well I brought the ring home this weekend and under different light immediately noticed a tiny dot/spec on the surface of the stone. You can only see it when the ring is tilted a certain direction so that it's not reflecting any light. It's very very small, but visible to the naked eye. I immediately went back to the store and spoke to my saleswoman, who looked at it an declared it to be an inclusion that reached the surface. Is this even possible? If it's on the surface of the stone, is it not automatically a blemish? She assured me it wouldn't lead to any structural issues down the road.

Even with the inclusion I'm pretty happy with the diamond I got. The price was out of this world, and I'm thinking because of this visible flaw that's the main reason why. But I would love a little advice on what I may be dealing with here from someone else. Thanks a bunch.

It's perfectly possible to have inclusions that reach to the surface. Feathers, cavities (knots), crystals and carbons can all be partly included. Whether this is likely to lead to issues or not requires inspection of the stone.