Engagement Diamond Looks Better Than Its Rating, Should I Keep Shopping?

rob

Hello! I have never bought a diamond or researched previously, but I'm ready to pop the big question to my girlfriend and am looking for some help! I came across this site and have found it very useful and wanted an opinion on a situation I ran into.

The other day I went with my girlfriend to look at rings at the Shane Co, because we figured they would have a lot of options to just get an idea of what she would be looking for. I was skeptical of buying from the Shane Co, but was surprised by the helpful service and the diamonds we saw. However, I am no expert and this is where I need advice!

We looked at a lot of diamonds and saw the differences in color and clarity. Some were pretty obvious to distinguish as a good or "less good" diamond, others I couldn't tell any difference without really staring under the 10x glass. One particular diamond we were shown looked better than higher rated diamonds, even diamonds 2x the price at top of the line in color/clarity. It SPARKLED more than anything of the others we looked at. Under the 10x magnifying glass I could see a lot of feathers and see why it was rated lower clarity, but it still looked better than the others to the eye. When we put it next to a VS1/F and could tell the color was a little off, but otherwise I think it looked great.

This diamond's specs:

Round 1.02ct SI2/G. Price was $5900.

My budget is around $10k out the door (diamond + setting) in the 1ct range, so I have some room to go higher on the diamond price. My question is, do I go with this diamond because my GF and I were comfortable with the way it looked and thought it out performed it's rating OR should I shop around and try to find a slightly better rated diamond that is maybe more clear or better color with the same sparkle?