Advice On Purchasing A Yellow Diamond Engagement Ring

rich1e_g

Hi,

I was wondering if I could ask your advice. I am looking to purchase an engagement ring for girlfriend. It is also worth noting that I am based in London, UK.

What I have in mind is a Tiffany soleste double halo with a Canary/Yellow Diamond centre stone (ideally cushion).

I have since been to Tiffany’s and jotted down the specs and is stated below.

Tiffany Marta (47089)

PT/18Y Yellow diamond .39, FY, VSI, 57Rd .26

PT/18Y Yellow diamond .65,FI, IF, 66Rd , .27.

I am pretty new to the concept of buying rings and need general advice and how much i should be looking to spend for the above spec.

I feel that purchasing from Tiffanys will not give me value for my Pounds and was wondering if there are any alternative recommended options.

I have initially looked online with Blue Nile & 77 diamonds. Is there any other websites or shops that is recommended/ GIA accredited.

Also is there a significant price difference between natural diamonds and irradiated diamonds

Any advice would be greatly appreciated

Richard

Satbeachbill: thanks for the endorsement.

Richard: welcome to DiamondReview! Your post is covering a lot of ground - I'll offer some comments below, but please ask more questions.

Based in UK:: not a problem - I lived in the UK until 2007 (have been around Europe a little since), and have bought jewellery "remotely" from the US without any issues, other than the annoying fact of having to pay VAT at the prevailing rate. As long as you shop wisely, there is still a significant advantage in prices.

Canary: there is no commonly accepted definition/standard - therefore be very careful: what a vendor calls "canary" may well end up being a Fancy Light Yellow... Stick to stones graded by GIA, and you won't have that problem, though fancy colours have typically much broader variation in colour intensity within a grade than in the D-Z range.