Is This Ring Good To Buy For The Price? Need Help Asap

tigeorgy

I need feedback ASAP to make my final decision. For $8,500, the rock (loose) is a Jubilant Crown (74 facets). Is it a good one based on the information from EGL-USA report:

Shape/Cutting Style: round

Carat: 1.55

Clarity: SI3

Color: F

Depth:63.8%

Table:45%

Crown Height: 14.9%

Pavilion Depth: 43.8%

Polish: Very Good

Symmetry: Good

Fluorescence: Faint

Brilliance/Contrast/Radiance: All are excellent

Please provide me with your feedback as I am new to this and do not want to get ripped off. I look forward to reading your feedback.

Edited by tigeorgy

I went to the store to look at a couple of diamonds for an engagement ring and the sales rep. offered the jubilant crown since it is "more" brilliant than a conventional diamond. He compared the EGL certified jubilant crown (74 facets) with a GIA certified conventional round diamond (58 facets) and I saw the jubilant brilliance to be better than the other one. Note: The jubilant crown was also cheaper than the GIA certified conventional diamond.

You haven't done a fair test. I'm not opposed to the extra facet style designs but they're decidedly more difficult to shop and I wouldn't dive into one just because the salesperson pitched it. For example, in the diamond finder at the top of the page are ads for 22 EGL graded 'conventional' round brilliants (the ones with 57 facets) between 1.51-1.56/F/SI3 and all but one is cheaper than that. Most by thousands of dollars and a few are less than half. Buy what you love, and if you love the extra facet designs shop them against other similar designs, not some different design that's graded by a different lab using different standards. Lots of stores sell 'em although they tend to give them different names and they're hard to find online to use as shopping tools. You're paying a premium for the facet pattern and the salesperson is telling you it's a discount.