Diamond Novice Questions

Peterg82

I should be getting engaged this weekend (don't want to jinx myself), and I'll have an old "heirloom" ring as a placeholder. I'm a complete novice but luckily my GF wants to pick out her own ring. So I know that's going to win out, but I still want to be useful in the process (and make sure I'm not getting ripped off).

My budget is $3000-3500 for the ring (so $2000-3000 for the stone). She lives in Atlanta so I'm going to take her to the Union Diamond store, and hopefully find something there. Overall the store seems pretty reputable and an excellent value, but they do have significantly more EGLs than anything else at my pricepoint. Not sure if that should be a concern?

Speaking of my pricepoint, I think I'll be looking at something .70-.95 carats, SI2+, G+, and VG+. I'd like to get a nice stone over a carat, but the more I look at it the more I don't think that's possible in my budget without sacrificing too much quality. For overall value, am I looking at the right criteria?

She's got small hands. To me that means I should "try" and stear her to the ovals and maybe marquise diamonds (I like them, but I doubt she does). However I know she likes the princess and rounds. Any thoughts and advice here?

anything else I should look out for?

Thanks for your help!

Edited by Peterg82
  • Like 1

EGL: it is a concern in the sense that effectively you have no independent grading to help you assess the stone. You are relying on the seller's word and your ability to make comparisons. On the other hand, you will be able compare stones "live" and/or ask UD to show you only GIA and AGS graded stones. Bear in mind that stones with a GIA or AGS report are not more expensive "because of GIA" - the cost of a GIA report for a 0.70-0.99 stone is $78 + S&H. They are "more expensive" because they are better cut, clarity and/or colour than EGL, IGI, etc. stones with the same "grades".