Hearts On Fire? Or Go To Friend's Jewelry Broker?

TedT

Hello All,

I'm very new at this so please excuse me if I dont have the correct terminology about this industry! I am starting to look around for an engagement ring and needed some help! I started reading a lot of the forums on this site and see that a lot of the discussions are about purchasing their diamonds online and just a personal preference, I'm not interested in buying anyting online.

I recently went into a retail jewerly shop and the nice sales person showed me different types of rings from all price ranges from diamonds they get to brand names. One of the rings they showed me was the Hearts on Fire diamonds. I understand that they probably get a good rip off the sale (or do they?) if they sell the HOF since they are one of the only retailers in the city that sell the brand. She was very open enough to tell me that for the price, I could probably get a diamond almost as good as HOF for much cheaper but she thinks the HOF diamond is the best diamond out there.

I understand that it's all a preference and with the HOF, I would be paying for the brand but is it worth it? When she put a HOF diamond next to any other diamond, it really did look much better than anything she compared it to but was I just getting sold?

I also have a friend's dad that is a diamond broker and I'm planning on seeing him soon to see what he has because my friend always tells me that it's going to be much, much cheaper than brand names but I'm afraid that it will be like the ones I saw at the retail shops next to the HOF diamonds that weren't as good.

I guess I really want people's straightforward opinion what I should do, anything they know about the HOF brand, any other brands I should be looking at and any advice!! Please help!! I didnt think think it would be so tough but I guess when you're spending $10k+ on a diamond, it shouldn't be easy! Thank you so much in advance!!

-TED

Ted,