The Most Noob Question About "cut"

tqttong

I am just a newbie when it comes to the diamond world.

When it comes to diamonds the 4Cs are important. Everyone wants to buy the "perfect" diamond.

Just imagine you could chose a diamond and your resources are without any limits. What kind of a diamond would you chose?

Colour:

This is obviously the most easy to answer, everyone would chose grade D (exclude personal preference)

Clarity:

This would not hard to answer either, all of us would chose F or IF

Carat:

This is a little bit more difficult to answer, but in our situation where there is no limit to chose from, we would chose: the bigger the better.

Cut:

The answer to this question would be tricky, since I was wondering: is there really a perfect cut?

Let's reduce our choice options and narrow it only to round brilliant cut diamonds.

Luckily for me I do not have to do the maths, someone else (Marcel Tolkowsky) decribed the perfect cut in his PhD thesis in 1919. According to him a diamond needs to be cut in a certain why to get the most "sparkling" effect:

* Round, Brilliant-Cut 57/58 facets

* Depth 59%

* Table: 53%

* Crown height: 16%

* Pavilion depth: 43%

* Girdle thickness: Medium

* Symmetry: perfect

* Cutlet: Tiny/Absent

* Facets: perfectly aligned

BUT Tolkowsky was not the only one who described the "perfect cut" and his cut may not even be the best. Have a look at the table for perfect cut benchmarks. It seems that the Eulitz Cut may be the most "perfect cut" of all this benchmark.

So let's come back to our choice of "perfect" diamond.

Our diamond would be: Grade D, F/IF, Big as possible, Eulitz cut?

Imagine that our financial resources are limitless too. Is it possible to go to a respectable jeweller (e.g. Cartier, HW, Graff or DeBeers) and ordered a customised perfect diamond?

Could anyone enlighten me on the choice of a "perfect diamond", especially regarding "perfect cut"?