Confused Newbi And Need Advice On Diamond Earrings

sfdiamondlover

I like to buy a pair of diamond earrings and saw this on Steve Padis website in San Francisco 888 Brennan Street. The price and the stones look good to me as I am not an expert in the area. Can someone please give me advice and tell me if this is a legit offer. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Diamond Studs 3.05 cttw, F, SI3 for $9000 before tax.

EGL Certified

14KT White Gold Diamond Studs

Individual Diamond Information:

Weight - 1.52 ct.

Color - F

Clarity - SI 3

Cut - Round Brilliant

Certification - EGL #91952606

Weight - 1.53 ct.

Color - F

Clarity - SI 3

Cut - Round Brilliant

Certification - EGL #91952602

There's a number of red flags here - primarily related to EGL reports. If the jeweller is reasonably local to you, then go and see (and compare to other available earrings/diamonds) if you like them. If you cannot see them because of logistics, I would be quite wary of this type of diamond from an unknown seller (and these guys are unknown to me).

Edited by davidelevi

Here's the problem: EGL SI3 generally means GIA-I1 to GIA I2. EGL F can mean anything from GIA-G to GIA-I or even GIA-J.

1.50 is an important weight point for people and consequently 1.5x stones are routinely cut for maximum weight at the expense of optical performance. The selection of a report that doesn't include a cut grade is a bad sign for this.

This means that your description EGL/S3/F/1.52-1.53 covers a LOT of ground. You know remarkably little about what you're getting.

Edited by denverappraiser

You can check prices for comparable diamonds using the Diamond Finder at the top of the page. Be cautious that comparing appropriately involves details such as the grading lab and the appropriate weight bracket (say 1.50 - 1.65 in your case), bearing in mind that a 1.4x stone will look barely smaller but will trade for 30% less...