Post Purchase Questions

ats200

Some of you may remember viewing a recent post of mine which has been on and off for the past month or so.

I recently purchased an engagement ring however, it was a special order as I had to go through Hearts on Fire for the setting I wanted. Since the order, there have been some complications, but they have all been cleared (so I'm told). Now the diamond and setting are being sent to HOF to be set in their workshop and will be returned mid-November.

My question is... when does one typically receive all of the documentation, etc. regarding the diamonds? Should I have it now or when I actually receive the finished product? My jeweler is very reputable in the area so I'm not necessarily questioning integrity, but I feel like the sales staff obviously tried to take advantage of me while I was buying. I studied up quite a bit before actually going to the store and being a quite person, I never really called them out on any of their sales tactics.

Because of this, I just want to be sure I'm actually receiving the diamonds for which I paid. (this is mainly in regards to the complications mentioned previously)

Thank you for the responses. I've been going back and forth with my jeweler and I received this response today (5 days after purchase): "The HOF 2 diamonds do not receive certification from GIA, but we will have an HOF certificate, as well as our sale documentation for you. I will get a current value for the diamond so that it can be properly insured."

This is what made me skeptical in the first place. They kept showing me diamonds that were "HOF 2" which they explained were old stock that were sent there at a discounted price from jewelers who no longer sell HOF jewelry. To me, they all looked fine under the scope and loop but honestly, what do I know?