Platinum Vs Vs And Fg

G-Mac

Hi Guys, this is my first time so I'm sorry if I've something wrong. Am thinking of buying a ring for someone. I have a choice of either going for platinum (with SI clarity and HI colour) or having diamonds of VS clarity and F-G colour but 18KT White gold.

Basically my question is....does the clarity and colour make much of a difference between SI and VS and the colour?

Thank you

Hmmm... there's a lot of things we'd need to know.

1. Who grades the diamonds? The shop? A lab? Which one?

2. What size, shape and quality are the diamonds?

3. What does the setting look like? How elaborate is it?

In general, I'd say two things;

a. If the sole difference in favour of the F-G/VS vs. H-I/SI is the metal, you are talking either of very small diamonds, or something is wrong. The cost difference due to metal and working is unlikely to be more than $1000. The difference between a properly graded F-VS1 and I-SI2 can be 70% of the price of the F-VS1.

b. Assuming the diamonds are small and that the grading is correct (big assumptions), you are unlikely to see a colour difference. On clarity, it will depend on how "good" the SI graded stones are - an SI stone may have fairly noticeable inclusions.

Edited by davidelevi

In general, the cut quality of the diamond will affect the face up ability to see inclusions. The better the cut, the less likely you will see inclusions face up.

Hmmm... there's a lot of things we'd need to know.

1. Who grades the diamonds? The shop? A lab? Which one?

2. What size, shape and quality are the diamonds?

3. What does the setting look like? How elaborate is it?

In general, I'd say two things;

a. If the sole difference in favour of the F-G/VS vs. H-I/SI is the metal, you are talking either of very small diamonds, or something is wrong. The cost difference due to metal and working is unlikely to be more than $1000. The difference between a properly graded F-VS1 and I-SI2 can be 70% of the price of the F-VS1.