Comparing Like Stones

nickj

I recently purchased a 1.00 carat princess cut diamond solitaire (I1 clarity, H color) from Sam's Club for $3000. I went back a couple days later and found they had a replacement in the display. The new stone was .97 carats, (SI1 clarity, I color) for the same price. The kicker is that it showed an IGI Appraisal Value $1800 higher than the stone I purchased. They both look good in my opinion. Sam's Club has a really good return policy. Based on these specs should I return my ring and purchase the ring that seems to be superior? Any advice would be much appreciated as I am new to the diamond game.

Thanks

I recently purchased a 1.00 carat princess cut diamond solitaire (I1 clarity, H color) from Sam's Club for $3000. I went back a couple days later and found they had a replacement in the display. The new stone was .97 carats, (SI1 clarity, I color) for the same price. The kicker is that it showed an IGI Appraisal Value $1800 higher than the stone I purchased. They both look good in my opinion. Sam's Club has a really good return policy. Based on these specs should I return my ring and purchase the ring that seems to be superior? Any advice would be much appreciated as I am new to the diamond game.

Thanks

Nickj ,

I would take the SI-1 I 0.97 carat. as long as the cutting proportions are the same.

Arthur DeMello GG (GIA), USPAP

Independent Appraiser

http://www.nationalgemologicallaboratory.com

Hi nickj,

There are several answers that could apply to your question...however I want to answer you as specifically as possible. In my opinion, if you are happy with your diamond, and you don't see a visual difference between the two, it comes down to personal preference. You need to pick the one you like and the one you feel the most comfortable with.