Big Diamonds. Need Help!!!

3265christine

I would like as my engagment ring a 2ct or little smaller. Must be bigger then 1.5ct Princess cut solitare ring.

Now my questions is a know that will be vary expensive. What is the lowest grades of the 4'c Can I do with out making it look bad to the human eye. (You hopefully know what I mean) Cost??? Can this be done for 10,000-12,000????

Also I would like to purchuse my ring in The Carribean is this bad choice. (Duty free, no tax) or on board a the curise that I will be on in Jan. What do you think about that?

I am new to this. All the help I can get will be great. Also I looked at the lab diamonds I DO NOT Care if it lab created but I can not seam to find any that are white and that large Can someone help me with this. This option would be my first choice, If I can get it. Thanks

Hi Christine,

I'm not familiar with anything but natural diamonds, so I'll address that part of your question.

There's no hard and fast answer to your question.

Some people don;t mind a slight tint in the diamond- or a bit of imperfection.

If you can tolerate both of those, you should be able to get a lovely stone of 2 carats.

One deal breaker for me: Make sure you don't sacrifice cut.

How can you do that?

I'd say you want to really choose where you buy it carefully.

I love the Caribbean myself.

Lovely islands, amazing beaches.

it's even possible to get a nice diamond there.

BUT- if you're already here looking yo might be able to buy under more favorable circumstances.

In terms of tax, you are bound to declare the item when you return to the US.

If you purchase online from a vendor in a different state than you reside, the same situation exists.

The seller does not collect sales tax, but there may be a law saying you need to declare it where you live.

Do many people actually declare this type of purchase?

Probably not.

But it puts online and in the same position as the Caribbean on that particular point.