Emerald Cut Depth Question

KPMLondon

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie looking at an emerald cut diamond (E, IF) with dimensions (8.3x6.9x4.8) for an engagement ring. The cert reports the depth as 69% which is (length/depth) and table as 59% and symmetry and polish as excellent.

The ranges for the AGA cut grading for 1A-2A is 60-65%, but I've seen other charts (diamondreview.com) where they cite a 60-76% range as excellent. I presume the confusion arises from comparing length/depth vs width/depth since the question is less relevant for rounds? If so, which should be compared to the old AGA chart? Is 69% too deep? Does having a slightly larger table and lower l/w ratio compensate for it?

Lastly, I know E/IF is pretty indistinguishable from a F/VVS2 at plain sight but am leaning towards getting a higher spec diamond since it would probably hold value better. Is that just foolish? Would a larger diamond be "rarer" and a better investment all other things being equal.

Thanks in advance and have a great weekend!

KPM

Hi KPM,

Ah, the AGA cut grading chart!

The best use for these charts is at the bottom of a bird cage.

If you have no bird, then let's just throw them away altogether...heheh

Seriously- trying to make a chart declaring what's right and wrong about a diamond's cut- especially a fancy shaped one- is rather silly.

I mean, some people want a square-ish emerald cut, and others want a longer one. Who is right?

Of course neither desire is "wrong".

My point is that you'll need to see the diamonds- at least good digital images to get an idea if the diamond appeals to you.

The next subject, buying diamonds for investment. Bad idea.

I mean, diamonds do hold value better than most things people buy, but thinking of a diamond as a financial investment is a mistake.

I think E/IF is an awesome grade. It will be near impossible to tell the difference from a D/IF, except you'll save a lot of money.

Nothing wrong with F/VVS either!