Newbie Needs Some Help

jbarch

I am looking for a diamond for my wife for our 25th anniversary. I am running into some criteria I had not counted on as I do my research and I don’t know what to make of it.

Proprietary Diamonds:

I’m running into “Leo Diamondâ€; “Hearts on Fireâ€; “HeartStarâ€, etc. Why should I consider these as opposed to a traditional diamond?

Lab certifications:

GIA vs. AGS vs. EGL vs. others, Comparison among the different labs. Should I care what lab the diamond comes from?

Cut, Clarity, Color, Carat:

How much importance should I place on these factors. I made my first visit to a local jeweler and he mentioned the priorities were, #1 cut, #2 color, #3 clarity, #4 carat. He recommended (for my budget) near colorless (G,H,I, J); clarity SI1-SI2

I want to keep my purchase to undere $5,000 any advice would be appreciated

I am a newb too so please take my comments with a grain of salt.