Branded Diamonds

ROTTIEPRINCESS

Hi everyone!

I'm a newbie to this forum but certainly not to buying diamonds. I've also posted on another forum as I would love to get as much advice as possible.

I consider myself a fan of all things shiny. I am currently studying with GIA on Diamond Essentials and it is all very interesting. I've been on eBay for a while and find it a great place to go if the seller is one to be trusted.

Anyways, my questions is about Diamond "Brands". I saw another thread regarding branded diamonds but I have specific questions regarding certain cuts manufactured by the large chain stores.

First off, I bought myself a LEO diamond and love it. It is very shiny and bright and is an IGI graded H color SI(1) .70 marquise. Compared to my engagement ring which is a 1.02 GIA certed F VS(2) I find it much nicer. But I know it varies from stone to stone. And I know "cut" is probably the most important of the Four C's.

Anyways, I am asking professional opinions for the "LEO" by Kay and Jareds, the Zales "Octillion" and the Helzberg "Radiant Star".

Since I usually purchase on auction, I am not paying ridiculous chain jeweler/mall prices. Other than having a name brand - anyone out there with more advice... or should I stick with higher graded better cuts with GIA and EGL certs?

Another question there is I am considering a Helzberg "Radiant Star" diamond, 1.05 carats, with an IGI cert of I color and I(1) clarity. The polish and symmetry are both good/good.

It also includes the GEMEX Light Performance Report,

white light (brilliance): Very High

color light (fire): High

scintillation (sparkle): Very High

Anybody think it is worth the asking price 1500? I've heard a lot of good and bad about the branded cuts from the mall stores so I would love to hear everyone's opinion on here.

Thanks and much appreciated for replies with advice before I buy it.

There are two ways to look at brands: