Difference Between Clarities

FreshlyFresh

Hi, I'm new to this, I've been researching the 4 C's and everything to know about them online for the past two months... I'm basically trying to get the most bang for my buck...

I've read through the tutorials here, as well as other sites, and I'm just stuck between a few different things; but could please someone help me with this.

I'm looking at a budget of about $5000;

I'm going to go with an Ideal cut diamond (as from my research I've taken that this will provide the most to do with the sparkle of the diamond, and really make it shine)...

i'm looking for a diamond no smaller than 1 ct; preferably in the 1.15-1.20 range (I'd like to go as big as possibly while staying under $5000 and making sure it shines and has no clear flaws...)

So, my basic question... if I have a ring of this size; say 1.25 to be safe; would the naked eye be able to see a difference between a VS2 and an SI1? I realize it says that VS2 there are few noticeable flaws under a 10x scope and that SI1 will have noticeable flaws under 10x scope... Well.. how about not under a 10x scope?

Also, is there such a difference, and if my absolute number 1 concern is the sparkle... would there be any difference between VS2 and VVS2 with that size diamond??

Last question... I'm most likely going with color H... but if I wanted to go most bang for buck... would I be better of going with a slightly bigger ring at Color I... or would there definitely be enough of a difference to go slightly smaller and stay at H?

I really appreciate anyone's help they can give... like I said, I'm new to this whole diamond buying thing; never really seen any up front... I have every intention of looking in person at some ring's when I'm finally ready to buy (not quite yet... couple months)... but for now... I'd like to do as much preliminary research as possible...

THANKS!

HI Fresh,

let me see if I can answer some of your questions.