Newbie...need Advice On A Rock

gator3109

Ok....I am new to the whole diamond thing. I have been educating myself for several weeks now and stumbled on to this site. I was looking for an oval on all the main online sites and came across this one on Adiamor, but the GIA report doesnt have a "cut" grading.

Here is what I can gather from the GIA report I printed out:

Oval Brilliant

9.84 x 6.39 x 4.28

1.72 ct

G

Si1

Polish: VG

Sym: VG

Flou: Medium Blue

Depth: 67

Table: 57

Girdle: think - thick

L to W: 1.54

$9,986.00 and its listed as a "very good" cut grade.

What scares me is the Depth. Is the Depth % the same as Crown Height %?

I use http://www.gemappraisers.com/GradeForm.asp to grade the diamond and it comes out, if I did it correctly, as a 4A (below average) diamond.

As you can see, I have a limit of $10,000 and I'm trying to find the biggest diamond (haven't decided whether I go oval or round) without sacrificing too much quality (F-H color / VS2 - Si1 clarity / I do want a very good cut though). I think that puts me in the 1.5 Ct ballpark (maybe slightly smaller for round and slightly larger for oval)

What do you guys think? Not a good deal? I am not a b&m fan and like the online aspect of buying a diamond as I have much more to choose from as well as the cost savings (cheaper + no sales tax). Where do most people around here find the best diamonds for the best value? (I've mostly looked at bluenile and adiamor and Mondera)

Sorry for the amount of questions, but this is such a big purchase for me and I am still a newbie and I am trying my best to learn quickly.

TIA

Jason

Edited by gator3109

Here is another one that I like with a "premium cut" but still comes out as a 4A diamond. I wish these GIA reports were cut graded as well. Am I doing something wrong?

* EDIT: I guess the Crown Height % is different than the Depth %. Question now is how do I find out the crown height % if its not listed on the GIA report?

Oval Brilliant