Need Advice On Stones And Prices For Engagement Ring

paulite

Hi

I have done a significant amound of research on diamonds and engagement rings but now have come to the eventual buying decision and am a little unsure of what to do -

The choice is between buying a stone from an internet retailer (blue nile) or a reputed store in the DC area (CSS). As expected there is a price difference. I have not yet negotiated but have been told that if I give them my budget they will see what they could do (that is CSS). I have obviously already shared the prices from blue nile with them

Also the settings from Blue nile that I like they can get made but again obviously it costs more. I can of course choose regular settings. But what cSS emphasizes is building a long term relationship and being there in case of problems etc. They do have an excellent reputation for service.

But since this is my first time in the jewellery market is the premium of 2200 dollars or 1700 dollars worth it? What should I negotiate for to be an acceptable premium or should I just go with blue nile?

the details are uploaded in an excel file..advice will be sincerely appreciated

Blue Nile I - Price 2803, Carat 0.71, Cut Very Good, Colour E, Clarity VS2, Polish Excellent,Symmetry Very Good,L/W Ratio 1.01, Grading Report GIA, Depth % 59.4,Table % 58,Measurements 5.76 x 5.82 x 3.44 mm, Fluorescence None, Girdle Thin to slightly thick

Blue Nile II - 2297, Carat 0.51, Cut Ideal, Colour D,VVS2, Polish Excellent,Symmetry Very Good, L/W Ratio 1, Grading Report GIA, Depth % 62.6, Table % 56,5.13 x 5.15 x 3.22 mm , Fluorescence None, Girdle Thin to medium

CSS I - 4400, Carat 0.7, Colour F, VS1, Polish Very Good,Symmetry Very Good, Grading Report GIA, Depth % 62, Table % 56, Fluorescence Faint

CSS II - 3420, Carat 0.5, Colour F, VS1, Polish Very Good,Symmetry Very Good, Grading Report GIA, Depth % 62, Table % 59, Fluorescence None

Setting costs - 900 at blue Nile and 1500 at CSS