Which One?

achilles

There's so much information out there it makes buying a diamond engagement ring tough. So far I've gathered that buying online will get you the most bang for your buck. I'm a teacher so naturally that's important. I'm looking to spend around 5k on a ring. What I want is an eye-clean diamond that doesn't have a noticable tint. I've heard that cut is really the most important of the "c"s and it will help hide small inclusions.

Also I know that GIA is a much better grading lab than EGL but I've also heard that some people have been very happy with their EGL diamonds. That being said I've found these two diamonds and I would appreciate a little advise on which one I should choose.

Choice 1:

Carat: 1.3

color: H

Clarity: VS2

Polish: VG

Symmetry: VG

Depth%: 59.2

Table%: 59.0

Abzazias says cut grade is "Premium" but I'm not really sure what that means

*Grading lab is EGL*

Choice 2:

Carat:1.15

Color: H

Clarity: SI1

Depth%: 62.1

Table %: 58.0

Symmetry:VG

Polish: VG

Abzazias's rating for cut is Ideal

*Grading lab is GIA*

They are both $5,100. Is it worth it to sacrifice the clarity and the carat weight for the GIA rating? Thanks for your help. Also if you have any advise for chooseing a nice sized, eye-clean diamond thats not related to these two specific stones please let me know. Achilles

No way to form an opinion without more info.

I presume these are rounds? What are their crown & pavilion angles, lower half% and star%? This will allow a better prediction, but still won't reveal actual light return or cut precision. Ideal-scope, ASET or other proof of light performance would be helpful.