Newbie Here

south

Hello first let me start by saying what a great forum that you have established here! I am a bit of a newbie when it comes to diamonds however, after some searching on this forum I have gained a great deal of knowledge, thanks!

Anyways, I am going to begin my hunt for an engagement stone and I have some basic criteria that I know, or at least I think I know I want the diamond to fall into.

Cut: Round

Weight: 1.2 thru 1.55 carat

Color: F, G, H

Clarity:?

Dimensions:? (Am I phrasing this right?)

Now here is where I seem to run into a few questions. I am not sure what other parameters I want to consider.

I am curious what some of the experienced members thoughts are on this issue. I would like to walk into a jeweler armed with some technical knowledge so that I not only get a fair price but I also get the most beautiful stone for my buck.

I am curious if anyone could provide a bit of direction of the clarity and dimension that I should look at. Is there an ideal parameter one should follow when looking at round cut stones?

Any other advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Edited by south

I should have clarified that I have read over the tutorials online (many times) but I am a bit unsure how the metrics are related to each other. For instance, depth to table percentages should be in harmony but what is the ideal harmony? Of course my budget is not unlimited.

Edited by south