Thought From The Experts

asujames

I'm new to buying diamonds as most I would assume who come here for help... I have a couple question for anyone who has time.

1. Which of the 4 Cs is most important? I mean shoudl I get a better color with a worse cut or go with a worse color with no inclusions .. how can I get my best bang for the buck

2. I asked the dealer that I was talking to to send me the best set of diamonds that woudl fit within my budget .. I was looking to spend at most $6,000 ... she sent me the following list. What diamond do people think is the best? Of course its hard to tell but based on what you do know which seems like the best choice.

View

Carat: 1.02

Color: G

VS2

Cut :Select Idealâ„¢

62.4/57

Price: 5758

Polish/sym EX/EX

GIA

View

E

VS2

Select Idealâ„¢

62.1/56

EX/EX

EGL

View

F

VS2

Select Idealâ„¢

62.6/56

EX/EX

EGL

View

G

VS2

Select Idealâ„¢

63.8/54

EX/VG

GIA

View

G

VS2

Select Idealâ„¢

62.6/56

VG/VG

GIA

View

G

VS2

Select Idealâ„¢

62.5/57

EX/VG

GIA

thanks for the help

Edited by asujames

James;

Cut is #1. A top cut quality diamond will refract more light and mask inclusions so that you can seriously consider SI clarities.

Impossible to advise based on the very rudimentary information provided by your dealer.

Different people view diamonds differently. Cut is what makes diamonds look like a little fireball on your finger and for a lot of people this is the top requirement, but not everybody. For quite a few, size would be the #1 issue and for almost everybody price is a major driving force. Some customers will end up with an Ideal cut J/SI2, others will choose a much smaller D/VVS while still others will go for a G/I2 that’s been cut for weight for face up size. All can go away happy and feeling like they got the 'best' deal.