Deciding Between These Two Diamonds.

mushfire

Hello everyone,

I just wanted to thank everyone for all the helpful information provided on this website and forum. I am also a newbie to diamonds and I have tried my best to learn from the web, as well as here. I recently walked into a jewelry store and I looked at a few loose diamonds. Now going in, I was considering Round cut diamonds in the range of:

F-G Color

VSS1-VS1 Clarity

Ex-VG Cut

Ex-VG Symmetry

Ex-VG Polish

I spent about two hours there, spending the last hour looking at just two. Unfortunately, I don't have the full specs, but they are as follow:

Diamond #1

Round Cut 1.20 Carat

Cut: Very Good

Color: G

Clarity: VS2

Sym: Excellent

Pol: Excellent

Est Price: $8300

Diamond #2

Round Cut 1.20 Carat

Cut: Good

Color: H

Clarity: VS1

Sym: Good

Pol: Very Good

Est Price: $6700-$6900

The jeweler mentioned that the G color stone had a slight larger table, don't know if that means anything. Both diamonds looked clean to the eye. In terms of the fire/brilliance, they appear to be the same, which seem strong. Rotating, angling, close and far from the eye, both diamonds appear nice to look at. But can it be better, I'm not sure. Though I'm not sure how much fire/brilliance would make a good diamond. I mean if it is very obvious, like this particular diamond that I saw that had visible carbons and basically no fire/brilliance, I know that diamond is of poor quality. I guess I am just concerned in this regard, because I'm not sure what the strongest fire/brilliance/scin diamond would look like, or maybe I've seen one already. I apologize for rambling. Hope there was some sense to that. :D

So I had searched some prices from the find online jeweler tab, which had a lower price difference of about $500-1000 for both diamonds. Standalone, would each respective diamond be worth the asking price? And which diamond would be a good buy? Your responses are much appreciated. Thank you.