Give Your Opinion...

cradamson123

I am thinking about buying a ring and this is one in my price range. Now I am purchasing on the internet so having said that I havent seen it in person but they assure me it is eye clean. Let me know what you think of this diamond I am no expert. EGL classification has been used. Thanks to all who reply.

1st

1.5 c

7.32-7.26 x 4.32 mm

width 63%

depth 59.3%

crown 12%

pavillion 41%

thickness very thick faceted

polish good to very good

symmetry good to very good

cutlet none

clarity SI1

color F

flouresence none

No comments on the cut grade

I am thinking about buying a ring and this is one in my price range. Now I am purchasing on the internet so having said that I havent seen it in person but they assure me it is eye clean. Let me know what you think of this diamond I am no expert. EGL classification has been used. Thanks to all who reply.

1st

1.5 c

7.32-7.26 x 4.32 mm

width 63%

depth 59.3%

crown 12%

pavillion 41%

thickness very thick faceted

polish good to very good

symmetry good to very good

cutlet none

clarity SI1

color F

flouresence none

No comments on the cut grade

I try not to be overtly critical, but there are some red flags here:

At 1.5 cts a well-proportioned diamond will spread appx 7.40 mm (w 61.0% depth and a 1% girdle). This one is spreading only 7.29 mm with 59.3% depth, meaning the girdle is very thick - so there is a lot of weight hidden there.

The crown & pavilion angle relationship are even more of a concern. A 41% pavilion depth implies a 39.4 degree pavilion angle and a 12% crown with the 63% table, depth & girdle thickness indicated means a crown angle near 33.0 degrees. Every diamond must be seen to be appreciated of course, but those proportions are far outside the "sweet spots" of any recognized cut grading system. Diamonds near these proportions which I have seen in-person are dark in the center, without much life.