Eye Clean?

dman50

‘Eye clean’ is not part of the GIA clarity grading scale. The problem is that this has to do with your eyes, with the lighting environment, with the setting etc. That said, most people are unable to see inclusions in correctly graded SI1’s from the face up position when seen under ‘normal’ viewing conditions. Most people start to see a trace of color at about I-J although for some this is as low as M and for others it’s as high as G.

Neil

are you referring to the color or inclusions? if you want eye clean diamonds then VS1 or VVS2 is the one. :blink:

With princess cut diamonds an SI1 is eye clean.

Moshe,

How can you make a blanket assertion that "all SI1 princess cut diamonds are eye-clean"???

Certainly, as a jeweler, I'm sure you have seen SI1 graded princess cuts with visible inclusions to the naked (unaided) eye.

I know I have certainly seen princess cuts (of poor cut quality and light performance) that have had visible inclusions to the naked eye, even when graded by GIA as an SI1.

GIA doesn't make a stipulation to only grade "excellent cut/visually beautiful" diamonds.

Sure, they may be one of the top two grading labs in the world.

However, that doesn't preclude them from grading a piece of frozen spit being passed off as a diamond. :P

They will ...and they do.

Simply conduct an e-bay search for diamonds and I'm sure you will find many GIA graded SI1 princess cuts with visible inclusions.

I believe the answer is that it all depends on the cut quality of the stone.

A well cut princess diamond will have excellent brilliancy and light performance. This refracted brilliancy, will mask the viewers ability to see internal inclusions even in an SI1 graded diamond. This is one of the magical aspects of a diamonds' "cut".