Help With This Diamond?

davidbise

I am new to the world of diamonds and never in my life owned one but now I want to really treat myself to a nice dress ring in a solitaire. I have looked in all the Jewelry stores in the area and didnt see anything I liked, then happened by the jewelry counter at Sams and decided to take a peek. Well, I saw this ring and instantly fell in love with it! It is a .71 CT, H1,(or could it be HI?), and I1 set in Palladium costing $2,600 but no certification. The Clerk didnt know the cut and I have no idea either nor did she have anything to weigh the palladium so I could not get the cost per ounce. I have looked online for the cost of similar diamonds and have come up with an average of $2000 for the diamond. Is this correct???? I have been told by a couple of friends that Sams only has a mark up of 6% on their jewelry and that you cant get them down on the price. I would really appreciate any advice. I am in Melbourne Fl. but I have not been to Orlando yet but plan on going this week to the stores there.

Edited by davidbise

Hi David,

Welcome to the world of diamonds!

The grade of the stone you looked at, with no GIA report, is in question. That has a large impact on the price.

That in itself makes even a rough guess impossible.

Palladium is well thought of, but white gold has stood the test of time, and may be a better choice for you.

Still, the best settings are NOT going to be sold by weight.

As far as any company working on a 6% markup- that sounds very much like an "Urban Legend"

I would start by doing a bit of shopping online- you'll find a lot of sites offering diamonds with GIA reports to give you an idea.

Do you have aphoto of the ring you liked- or maybe you can find one similar and show us?

Hi David,

The grade of the stone you looked at, with no GIA report, is in question. That has a large impact on the price.