New To Loose Diamond Industry

jkang

Hello....

I am just starting out in the loose diamond industry....

Finding out it is a very tough industry......

I have a good source of polished cut diamonds I buy from overseas (none from Africa, too scared of conflict diamonds) but I am learning as I go.... and finding out it is an expensive industry and finding out it is tough to find buyers in this industry, most times I get hung up on when I cold call or turned away when I try to go into shops..... but I do have acouple of buyers who seems to be happy with price and quality.... I have them calling everyday to see what I have.....

But anyone else in the loose diamond business and what was your experience like when you first started out and also any feedbacks and tips would be great.....

thanks in advance.... ;)

As you point out, it’s a tough business. Frankly I wouldn’t recommend it for a newcomer who’s not well connected and who isn’t personally an expert in both the industry and the products. Why did you decide to become a diamond dealer?

Assuming you pass the above test and you still want to be in the business, you need to decide who your customers are and what value you are adding to the mix to justify your paycheck. The days of murky deals where you can make a buck based on the difficulty of finding good suppliers are long gone. If your plan is to sell to jewelers and the value you are bringing to the table is that you’ve got the contact information of a great supplier and they don’t, I think you’re in for trouble. Jewelers and their suppliers, at least most of them, are smarter than a lot of folks give them credit for. If you’re not adding something of value, both will benefit by cutting you out of the loop and both sides have the wherewithal to do it. If they don’t do it, their competitors will and you’ll all fail together.