Laser Drilling

topaz

Dear Professionals,

I am so happy that this forum exists...i really am!

Let me be honest...I want a big rock! So, I have been trying to educate myself on laser enhanced diamonds, and I think I understand it on a basic level. However, I do not fully understand the financial benefits. I could not find any real numbers to compare and contrast anywhere. What i mean is: How much more bang will i get for my buck? I understand that an unenhanced diamond price range is impossible to give without details of the 4 c's? So, does the same hold for laser enhanced diamonds? Could anyone give me a range on how much a 1-4 carot laser enhanced diamond costs?

I hope this all makes sense. I am not good at "talking" diamond.

Thank you in advance for your time and insight!

best,

Topaz

Laser drilling seems to affect the price about the same as 1 clarity grade. That is to say, a SI1 lasered stone will cost about the same as a similar weight/color/cut SI2 stone.

'Clarity ehnancement' normally referrs to a process of filling inclusions with a foreign material that makes them harder to spot. Sometimes the results are miraculous and sometimes they are barely noticable. Shopping filled stones against one another is quite a bit more difficult because the amount and location of the filling is such a big deal. Some will be 10% discounted and some will be a quarter or less of the price of a sort of similar looking un-enhanced stone. There's no easy conversion chart.

Neil

Thank you very much Neil. That was very helpful information. I think I'll buy a stone that has not been enhanced.

Laser drilling seems to affect the price about the same as 1 clarity grade. That is to say, a SI1 lasered stone will cost about the same as a similar weight/color/cut SI2 stone.