Better To Purchase Ring At Store Or Online?

Guest jazzcatdrp

Guest jazzcatdrp

Hello all,

I stumbled across this forum while looking for some advice on purchasing an engagement ring. I am looking to buy a ring for my (hopefully) soon to be fiance, and as I am a broke college student, have been looking online a lot, as I've found them to be significantly cheaper. I've been checking out Blue Nile. Does anyone recommend anywhere else online to look for a ring? Also, a concern I have with purchasing online regards insurance. I've found a lot of chains offer options where if you have the ring serviced every six months with them, then if the rock should ever fall out, or the ring becomes damaged, they will fix/replace it free. Are there any options like that when purchasing online? Thanks for any advice you can give me!!

We in the internet business could offer you the same stone for a lesser price, because we have a much less overhead cost. And we offer a 30 day return option, so there is no risk in purchasing a diamond over the internet.

Regarding insurance: we recommend our customers to take out there own insurance that way you are covered 100%.

Hope this helps.

• 2 weeks later...

Regardless of whether you buy from a Brick & Mortar Jeweler or from an Internet website, make sure that the company will provide you with a Lifetime Guarantee on the quality and craftsmanship of the setting.

Many companies do not manufacture in-house but outsource these ring orders and consequently have no quality control over the final product.

Insurance is a good thing. I recommend it for most customers to cover the big risks, things like fire, theft, owner stupidity and the like (like leaving it at the sink in the bathroom at the football stadium). These things aren’t what are covered in the store warranty so let’s talk about the little things.