Settings Overpriced??

kirghizstan

I am looking at a few settings at different online retailers. I have to admit I am a novice, but I am starting to wonder if online retailers can charge less for the diamond because they mark up the setting. Here are the ones I am interested in and I would love to hear your opinion on each.

http://www.diamondideals.com/jewelry/produ...Type/2/COLLID/0

http://www.diamondideals.com/jewelry/produ...Type/2/COLLID/0

http://www.bluenile.com/product_details.asp?oid=3472

http://www.bluenile.com/product_details.asp?oid=5336

Note, that I am looking 18 carat white gold or platinum. That also brings up my other thought, platinum carries along with it a certain degree of desire heightened importance, but is it really worth the extra money, especially if you could find a band that used palladium to make the white gold?

Thanks for your help.

Actually, we take quite a hit on the setting. But that's because it's a bad idea to piece meal out a diamond ring by getting a setting one place and the diamond in another. You can end up with a ring you don't like and then there is not someone who will take final responsibility for the ring. You also run the risk of negating the trade up policy if there is one. People usually think this is a good idea and they'll get a better deal but this is rarely the case.

I don't know about how these online retailers set their prices but I don't think they are making a killing on the setting. You'd have to compare similar settings to see. I do know they don't post photos of the diamond you're buying, only a representative one. They don't have them there but purchase it sight unseen from a database listing and send it to you.

I would encourage you NOT to try and buy a diamond and setting at two different places. And to choose your dealer first, then get a diamond you love.