Tiffiny & Co diamonds

gdave

I'm new to the diamond buying game and would like to purchase my future fiance a quality ring. The first jewelery store I visited was Tiffiny & Company. The diamonds I viewed were very nice and the prices certainly reflected that. Is the price you pay for a Tiffiny diamond worth it?

The main thing Tiffany's prices reflect, in my opinion, is their name and their little blue box. While they do follow quality guidelines for color and clarity... you can find equivalent and better quality (cut) diamonds at significant savings buying elsewhere. Depending on where you go, you can most likely also get much more information on the diamond than Tiffany's might provide. For example, pictures, light analysis and cut analysis.

• 2 weeks later...

So I see you shilling this group again and I find I needed to take a gander at them..

First, a "D" grade that you frown at is just one level below the "K" grade.. Duke then King.. Ok, maybe I buy that.. No worries there..

But then I do some looking at the behind the scenes aspects of Luxuryfed.Com.. A quick check at whois shows that the website was created on April 18, 2006.. Not much of a history there don't you think??

So I went to look at the chinese versions of this site.. Created 30-oct-2005.. A bit older, but still not a lot of history for an Association that has declared itself an organization to regulate the international luxury market.. They have another site that was registered on 07-jun-2006.. Not terribly impressive.. I stopped after this.. But there is plenty more..

Steve,