HELP ASAP! Best size stud for pendant

mommy_barbie

I may have posted already - but wasn't sure if the post went through -

Hi - I'm new to the form and am facing a deadline regarding a purchase on a 1/2 carat simple diamond pendant (white gold) for a necklace and a pair of white gold diamond stud earrings to match.

Can anyone quickly give their opinion on the best size stud earring to match this size diamond pendant (in total carats for the pair of earrings). I would like to get a nice set with diamonds that really compliment one another, but I don't want the earrings to take over - I'm hoping that the earrings can compliment rather than distract from the bigger diamond on the pendant.

Any replies are really very much appreciated. Thank you -

With all due respect to all the honest jewelers out there, I do think this is one choice you have to make yourself without much guidance from a jeweler, who will always have an incentive to try get you to buy bigger.

Another thought. The pendant/stud combination may look small in a jewelry store with bling bling everywhere! Try to imagine yourself at work or out somewhere wearing the pendant / studs...

You are so right Ben. I originally purchased a total wt. 0.60 earrings to go with the 1/2 k pendant. The clerk was trying to talk me into 0.70!!

Anyways, when I originally typed this post, I had hoped they would let me make an exchange the 0.60 total wt. studs for 0.50 total wt - when I got home, it seemed as though the 0.60 competed with the studs.

The clerks are exassperated with me for being so indecisive - I was discussing making another purchase through them, and they agreed to give me a deal since I'd already bought a few things - but I just foudn out they won't agree to that deal and exchange the studs for a smaller pair. It looks all as though I'm stuck with them after all!!

I sure wish I had more time to make these decisions...

Now what do I do?? I think the best decision would have been:

- 1/2k pendant