$29K diamond worth it?

marky2005

Hi,

I'm totally new to diamond shopping but just started looking for an engagement ring to be used in the near future (smile). I went into a very reputable jewelry company and was shown a ring with the following gradings:

Shape: Round Brilliant

Measurements: 7.71 x 7.81 x 4.69mm

Carat: 1.68

Color: F

Clarity: VVS2

Cert/Report: GIA

Polish: Excellent

Girdle: Medium Faceted

Cutlet: None

Symmetry: Very Good

Depth: 60.4%

Table: 60%

Fluorescence: None

Price: $29,000

That price would be a stretch for me but would be ok, as long as I thought it was a fair deal. I asked what the cut was, but was told that GIA doesn't grade the cuts. Instead, they showed me a GIA certificate with the above information, and said that the proportions would show that it was within what would be considered "Ideal."

I have two questions: first, is there enough information above to grade the cut as excellent, very good, etc? Second, does the price sound right for that diamond?

Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

marky2005,

The diamond has excellent proportions, although a 60% table is outside Ideal parameters and you were misinformed when you were told otherwise.

As to price, $29,000 might be a fine and fair price in a store, but it's about $8,000 higher than you'd pay for the exact same quality diamond online. In addition websites don't charge sales tax unless you live in the same state, so that might be another thousand or more in savings.

If you think the store will drop the price by $5,000 then I think you're in the ballpark. Otherwise you should seriously consider your online options.

Warmest regards,