Can't decide between Bluenile and Uniondiamond.com

danmohiuddin

Hi,

I am about to make a loose stone purchase but can't get over the fact that Bluenile and Uniondiamond are selling the exact same stone. Yes, the GIA certs match up and everything. Literally, the exact same stone.

Something which I am sure is common practice in the industry is something new to me. The only difference is the price by about $500.00. Uniondiamond is selling the exact same loose round stone for roughly $500.00 cheaper than Bluenile.com. With that said I have had plenty of experience with buying from Bluenile before (other pieces of jewelery) and am very happy with them. With such a large expensive purchase I want to make sure I am working with a quality online retailer. I am not familair with Uniondiamond and have no problem buying the diamond from them, I just want to make sure I do this right the first time around. Does anybody know if such practice (two online stores selling the same piece of jewelery) happens a lot? If so, should I just buy from the cheaper store?

Any help would be appreciated! Thanks in advance!

Dan

It's a very common issue. Click on the "find online jeweler" button on this website and you will be able to find multiple vendors selling the same diamond from a virtual inventory. Heck, you may even be able to find your diamond, as offered by UnionDiamond.com and BlueNile, from additional vendors.

As far as pricing, I would definitely factor in your past experiences and your overall comfort with a vendor. Having said that, many online vendors do offer service and goods as good as (and often better than) BlueNile because they can add the personal touch that BlueNile cannot.