I think I made a bad purchase....

hunnybees

This is my first time here.

My dh and I went ring shopping the other day and purchased new wedding rings/engagemtent set.

Problem is, I didn't think of asking the "4 c's" as I never had thought about this too much before hand. I figured for the price, it would be atleast acceptable. So today when I tried it on, I noticed a big inclusion in the diamond. THats what got me going and I have been researching all day and sad that I didn't get an acceptable graded ring. I want this to be special.

Anyways can you tell me what you think from what I know about it now?

color: H. I

cut: not sure on, but I believe it is atleast good

clarity: I1-!2

Its princess cut with the center diamond being .5c and it has multi diamonds on each side for a tw of 1.1 . The matching wedding ring is multi diamond with a tw of .70. We paid $4100-4200 for this set and that is CANADIAN price. Do you think I got jipped? My dh phoned the store today and she is bringing in 2 more for us to look at. I'm sure she will bring in the same I1-I2 clarity again and I don't think that is acceptable. Is it wrong for us to try for atleast a S1 c on it? If they can't I think I will get a refund.

Thanks for reading....

M.

Consider the 5th C, Cut. The better the Cut, the less likely you will be able to pick up inclusions in the diamond.

There are I-1, I-2 clarity graded diamonds that face up totally eye-clean and there are SI-1 diamonds where the inclusions are readily visible. Since you can easily spot these inclusions without a loupe, return the set and keep looking.

I would also recommend that you purchase a diamond that comes with a reputable lab grading report ( GIA or AGS )so you know exactly what you're getting in terms of color and clarity.

Good Luck.

Thanks for your reply!