Opinion on this old mine which has some chips

Bijouxboyd

I am really intrigued by this ring, especially for the center stone. I have wanted to Old Mine for quite a while, I think the old cuts are romantic and soft and I don't mind warmer tones. I don't have the highest budget rn and I confess I would love a higher carat weight. This ring is 6k but right now, bc there is a chip in the stone, it's being recut so center stone is currently not in setting. The vendor said if I wanted as is he can reset it with chip under a prong. I won't go that route; firstly just not ready to buy but also I'm going to wait and see what happens after re-cut. I wanted to get some opinions (see pics). I have to admit I'm attracted to the 2.09 ctw size given the affordable price, but I don't know if it's a too good too be true situation and the stone is so fragile because of the chipping. The faceting looks just beautiful to me but I'm not an expert :) He said it would probably shrink some in re-cut, like 2.0. He also said he didn't send it to lab prior to cut but will probably do so after. He is a GIA grad and these are the specs given: 2.09 The diamond measures 8.11mm x 7.9mm with a depth of 4.78mm. VS1  N

2.03 6277.jpg

2.031.jpg

3.jpg

il_794xN.2414546573_i86s.jpg

Edited to ask something else - I thought that re-cut meant something akin to repair. Now I am reading that it may be more dramatic than that. I would still want it to look like an Old Mine not a MRB for example. I will need to ask more questions to the vendor but I want advice to anyone out there who might have recommendations for a chipped stone. 

That looks like a lovely stone. It's not what I would call an Old Mine Cut; I'd call it Old European Cut, but old it definitely is.

7 hours ago, Bijouxboyd said:

I have to admit I'm attracted to the 2.09 ctw size given the affordable price, but I don't know if it's a too good too be true situation and the stone is so fragile because of the chipping.